The Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood is also called the Cathedral of the Resurrection of Christ. The preferred Russian name for this church is Khram Spasa na Krovi. However, the most common name used in English publications is “Spilled Blood.” The Church was built on the site where Tsar Alexander II was assassinated. The reference to spilled blood is a reminder that a terrorist bomb attack on March 1, 1881, by the revolutionary group Narodnaya Volya (People’s Will), tore the legs off of the tsar and left him bleeding to death. Construction began in 1883 under Alexander III as a memorial to his father. Work progressed slowly and was finally completed during the reign of Nicholas II in 1907.
Architecturally, the Cathedral reflects back to medieval Russian architecture which is much different from St. Petersburg’s other structures which are predominantly Baroque and Neoclassical. It intentionally resembles the celebrated St. Basil’s Cathedral in Moscow. The Church contains over 7500 square meters of mosaics, which is thought to be more than any other church in the world. The interior was designed by some of the most celebrated Russian artists of the day