Posted by: danielfee | July 5, 2013

Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic 07-05-2013

My First Home - Aschaffenburg, Germany

My First Home – Aschaffenburg, Germany

Mom in front of the house

Mom in front of the house

Dad in front of the house

Dad in front of the house 

Me at our first house

Me at our first house

Me and Deanna

Me and Deanna

This little house in Aschaffenburg, Germany is where I lived until I was a year old and we returned to the United States. Aschaffenburg was the location of several United States Army installations throughout the Cold War. The US Army occupied facilities formerly used and controlled by the Wehrmacht. My dad was invited (well actually he was drafted) by Uncle Sam and spent a couple of years in Germany. My mother joined him, which is why I was born in Aschaffenburg. This little house is where my parents and I lived. They rented the upstairs from the Fischer family who owned and ran the Guesthouse (the building behind the house in the photo). Their daughter Helen and her husband lived in the downstairs portion of the house. They had a daughter named Deanna who was born a month or so after me.

Thirty-five years after we left Germany, my parents, wife and I made a trip to Central Europe and at the end of the trip we rented a car and drove to Aschaffenburg to look for the place where we once lived. We found the house and my parents posed in front for a picture. Afterwards we went to the Guesthouse for lunch and dad told the story of living in the house and asked the woman working there if she knew what happened to the family that used to own the Guesthouse. Her English was poor so she asked another woman to come out of the back restaurant and dad repeated the story. The second woman turned out to be Helen and she explained that her father had passed away a few years ago and that she had taken over the family business. We inquired about her daughter Deanna and found out that she was now living with her family in the little house behind the Guesthouse. It was amazing after thirty-five years to find the Fischer family still at the same place, but it made for one of the highlights of our trip.

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. […] Knudsen Photography WryGrass Polit-onomics & Travel Albatz Gallery & Blog Northwest Frame of Mind Prateek Bhatia Life in the Foothills Good2begone […]

  2. Reblogged this on Travis Caulfield's blog and commented:
    Really interesting!

  3. what a lovely story… what a wonderful end to your nostalgic trip to Europe.

    • Thanks, and we finished off the trip at Oktoberfest before we flew home.

  4. Wow …. this I like very much – the story and the old .. photos.

    • Thanks, glad you enjoyed it.

      • It’s a brilliant … post – love the old photos. My pleasure.

  5. I love looking at old photos of my folks and family from many years ago.

  6. nice nostalgic memories


Leave a Reply

Categories

