Posted by: danielfee | June 29, 2013

Weekly Travel Theme: Sculpture 06-29-2013

Another great travel theme. I started looking at my travel photos and realized that a lot of them are great pictures of sculptures. So I will break them up into several posts. This first group are all works of the great French sculpture Auguste Rodin. All of these are on display at the Musee Rodin in the gardens and interior of the 18th century Hotel Biron in Paris. Rodin is generally credited as the founding father of  modern sculpture. In 1878 when his first important work  “The Age of Bronze”, also known as “The Vanquished”, was exhibited there was a great controversy because it was so perfectly modeled that critics accused him of taking plaster casts  directly from his model. Two years later he received a commission for the “Gates of Hell”, a work that he never completed in his lifetime. His best known sculptures are probably “The Thinker” and “The Kiss.” Here were ten of my favorite photos.

The Thinker

The Thinker

The Thinker

The Thinker

The Kiss

The Kiss

The Gates of Hell

The Gates of Hell

The Gates of Hell - Close up

The Gates of Hell – Close up

The Gates of Hell - Close up

The Gates of Hell – Close up

Balzac

Balzac

The Three Shades

The Three Shades

Unknown Title

Unknown Title

Unknown Title

Unknown Title

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. I adore Rodin! My favorite is Le Penseur!

    • I think my favorite is “The Gates of Hell”. The detail is phenomenal. Unfortunately, because of the angle of the sun I was not able to get really good photos. But I like so many of his sculptures it is hard to chose.
      Enjoy your week at the lake. The photos are great.

      • Thanks I will! 🙂

  2. We would love to post The Thinker at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

    • I don’t mind. Please feel free to repost any of my posts. I am glad you liked it.
      Dan

  3. It’s been posted. Thanks so much, we really appreciate it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

