Posted by: danielfee | March 9, 2013

Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood 03-09-2013

Allure of the Seas leaving Port Everglades

Allure of the Seas, the largest cruise ship in the world, leaving Port Everglades on a seven day Caribbean Cruise

Egrets after a big storm

Egrets after a big storm

 

Sunrise of Ft Lauderdale Beach

Sunrise on Ft Lauderdale Beach

Ft Laudedale Beach after Hurricane Sandy. Most of the beach was gone the day I took this photo. After the next high tide so were the palm trees and seawall as well as part of the road..

Ft Lauderdale Beach after Hurricane Sandy. Most of the beach was gone the day I took this photo. After the next high tide so were the palm trees and seawall as well as part of the road.

Sand dunes created by Hurricane Sandy clean up.

Sand dunes created by Hurricane Sandy clean up. We don’t have sand dunes and you should be able to see the ocean as you drive down A-1-A

My old house. Well actually it was a new house, We tore down the old one and built this one ourselves.

My old house. Well actually it was a new house, We tore down the old one and built this one ourselves.

Here are a few photos I have taken with my cell phone around my hometown of Ft Lauderdale, Florida.

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Nice house! I used to think you spent all your money on travel, now I just think you must be very rich. Not that there’s anything wrong with that…

    • I wish I was “very rich” then I could stop working. Both my wife and are professionals that have our own small business, hers is real estate and mine is engineering. We are the small businesses that the Republicans love to talk about and say that everything Obama proposes is going to hurt “small business.” I can tell you first hand they are full of crap. We do well but we don’t need to worry about the $450 k limit, and if I did I wouldn’t bitch about an additional 3.5% on each dollar over that amount. I was fine with the $250 limit and thought he should have held his ground. If you net more than that just be happy and pay the little extra.

      • I agree about the taxes. I thought $250 was appropriate. My husband and I tore down our house 13 years ago and built the house we are living in now. I don’t think I’d do it again! Would you? The sad thing is that you learn so much from doing it, and you kind of want to put that experience to good use.

  2. nice pics.do most cruise ships leave from Ft Lauderdale, Florida

    http://amarnaik.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/phoneography-challenge-my-neighborhood/

    • Miami has the most cruise ship passengers each year and Ft Laudedale is close behind in second place. On a busy weekend during season (our winter) there are 7 to 9 of these big ships leaving for a week or more cruise. The Allure is the biggest.

  3. So fun to see everyone’s hoods! Looks like a lovely house!

    • Yes it was. We only lived in it for a year before we sold it. We lived at that location for six years in a 1960’s Florida style house. The property was on the water with ocean access in a high end neighborhood. We bought the property with the intent to one day tear it down and build a big house that fit the neighborhood and then flip it. We had set up a company, CDI Custom Homes to do more projects like this one, but the real estate prices for waterfront property got out of control so it was hard to make the numbers work. When we would look at an old tear down house the seller thought they had a nice expensive house. So we went back to concentrating on our real estate and engineering. Here is a fun fact, I found out a few months ago the current owner of the house is a starting quarterback in the NFL.

      • So cool and waterfront must be AMAZING!

  4. […] Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood 03-09-2013 (politonomicsandtravel.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

