Posted by: danielfee | December 20, 2012

Travel Photo of the Day 12-20-2012

Hiking the Appalachian Trail

Hiking the Appalachian Trail

Trail Sign

Trail Sign

Off on my hike

Off on my hike

Appalachian Trail

Appalachian Trail

The Appalachian Trail is an approximately 2,200 mile long marked hiking trail in the eastern United States extending between Springer Mountain in Georgia and Mount Katahdin in Maine. The trail passes through fourteen states which include: Georgia, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine. The majority of the trail is in wilderness, although some portions traverse towns, roads and cross rivers.  The highest point on the trail is 6,643 feet at Clingmans Dome in Great Smoky Mountains National Park, which is where I started my hike. I had only one-half day available to hike, so I decided to visit Clingmans Dome with my wife and then hike the approximately 7.5 mile leg of the trail to Newfound Gap which crosses US 441 where she would pick me up. I thought it would be a fairly easy hike since I was starting at the high point and walking downhill. I did not do my pre-hike research. As I set off, things were going as I expected, but then somebody put Mount Collins in my way! The hiking down into the valley then up and over Mount Collins took me much longer than expected. But I can say that I hiked part of the Appalachian Trail.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. I see you weren’t really with your mistress in Argentina…

    • That is why my wife went with me, to make sure I was really hiking the Appalachian Trail. 🙂 We actually went just a few months after that happened.

      • And he’s back, running for his old seat from Charleston.

  2. We were at clingmans dome last print. Yeah, the air is a bit thin up there, lol, and the hiking is really rugged! We hope to return with the kids for real hiking.

    • Let me know when you go. Maybe I can meet up with you guys and do a hike. Charlotte loved the cabin we rented in the mountains and would go back in a heartbeat. But of course she won’t do the hiking. The air at 6,600 feet isn’t too bad. On my trek to Machu Picchu the pass we hiked over was 15,523 feet, now that was thin air.


Leave a Reply

Categories

