Posted by: danielfee | December 7, 2011

Travel Photo of the Day 12-07-2011

U.S.S. Arizona Memorial – Honolulu, Hawaii

On the 70th anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor, it seems appropriate that todays travel photo should be of the U.S.S. Arizona Memorial. The Arizona was one of the battleships that was bombed in a Japanese air raid on December 4, 1941. The deck of the ship lies 6 feet below the surface and to this day still leaks oil into the harbor. The 184 foot rectangular memorial spans the sunken hall of the ship. The rear wall of the shrine room has the names carved in stone of the 1,177 sailors and Marines who died in the attack .

Responses

  1. Today marked the disbanding of the Pearl Harbor Survivors group—I hate watching the passing of “the Greatest Generation.” They had so much more grit than we do.

    Oh were your ears burning? We talked about you at Valley Dale. I christened you and Bradley our family’s version of the Baldwin brothers 🙂

    • I take it I am the smart one and Brad is the crazy one nobody ever talks about 🙂

  2. It’s always pleasant whenever you go through a write-up that is not exclusively informative but in addition fun. I have to save Travel Photo of the Day 12-07-2011 Polit-onomics & Travel inside my laptop or computer. I’ve been hunting for information regarding this subject matter for days and yours is the greatest I have found. I really enjoyed reading your posting.

    • Thanks, I try to keep them short with the most relevant info.


Leave a Reply

Categories

